Why is my bra or pants size any of your business?

Toronto-Slutwalk

Why is everyone so obsessed by women´s body. I can´t seem to walk around without being surrounded by a hotchpotch of thighs, bums and boobs in all colors and sizes. Companies, regardless of the product they sell, feel entitled to tell women how they should look like and the public either slam them for encouraging women to starve or applaud them for reassuring women that it´s ok to be fat.

Are companies like Dove, Curvy Kate Lingerie and Dear Kate that launched positive body image campaigns any better than the others? They are equally concentrating on women´s looks and feel entitled to tell them how they should feel about themsleves. Isn´t it better to just forget about our bodies and find a more creative way to promote their business?

Why is my bra or pants size any of your business? A funny and at some points shocking quiz on BuzzFeed asking readers to guess what some sexist adverts are trying to sell perfectly reflects my point. Check it out here.

2 thoughts on “Why is my bra or pants size any of your business?

  1. Dear Nadia, How are you doing? Has been a long time ago that we met. When I read about Syria I think of you. How you survive in the crisis in your country. The blogs you send I always read. This last one, with the link to the test is both funny and shocking. Best wishes, Herman Huisman

    Verstuurd vanaf mijn iPad

    > Op 20 jun. 2015 om 13:44 heeft Nadia Muhanna’s blog | مدونة ناديا مهنا het volgende geschreven: > > >

  2. Dear Herman, it´s so nice to hear from you after so much time. Thank you for following my blog and I hope all is well with you.
    What´s happening in Syria is heart breaking. It turned all our lives upside down. I left Syria with my family and ended up in Madrid. Who would´ve gussed it back when we met!

Leave a comment